Minutes of the GNSO Council Meeting 21 September 2022 part II

Agenda and Documents

GNSO Council meeting held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 15:30-16:00 MYT: https://tinyurl.com/yc2uwm9z

Coordinated Universal Time: 07:30-08:00 UTC

00:30 Los Angeles; 03:30 Washington DC; 08:30 London; 09:30 Paris; 10:30 Moscow; 17:30 Melbourne

List of attendees:

Nominating Committee Appointee (NCA): - Non-Voting - Anne Aikman-Scalese

Contracted Parties House

Registrar Stakeholder Group: Antonia Chu, Theo Geurts, Greg DiBiase,

gTLD Registries Stakeholder Group: Nacho Amadoz, Kurt Pritz, Sebastien Ducos,

Nominating Committee Appointee (NCA): Desiree Miloshevic

Non-Contracted Parties House

Commercial Stakeholder Group (CSG): Marie Pattullo, Mark Datysgeld, Osvaldo Novoa, Thomas Rickert, John McElwaine, Susan Payne

Non Commercial Stakeholder Group (NCSG) Manju Chen, Wisdom Donkor, Tomslin Samme-Nlar, Farrell Folly, Stephanie Perrin, Bruna Martins dos Santos,

Nominating Committee Appointee (NCA): Paul McGrady

GNSO Council Liaisons/Observers:

Justine Chew - ALAC Liaison

Jeffrey Neuman- GNSO liaison to the GAC

Maarten Simon - ccNSO observer

ICANN Staff

David Olive -Senior Vice President, Policy Development Support and Managing Manager, ICANN Regional

Mary Wong - Vice President, Strategic Community Operations, Planning and Engagement

Marika Konings - Vice President Policy Development Support

Julie Hedlund - Policy Development Support Director

Steve Chan – Senior Director

Berry Cobb - Snr. Program Manager for Policy Development

Emily Barabas – Policy Senior Manager

Ariel Liang - Policy Senior Specialist

Caitlin Tubergen - Policy Director - apologies

Terri Agnew - Operations Support, Lead Administrator

Nathalie Peregrine - Manager, Operations GNSO

Zoom recording Transcript

Item 1. Seating of the 2022 / 2023 Council

1.1 - Roll Call

1.2 - Statements of Interest

Statements of interest were received from the new Councilors:

Anne Aikman-Scalese: SOI Non-Voting NomCom Appointee

Bruna Martins dos Santos: <u>SOI</u> Non-Commercial Stakeholder Group (NCSG)

Nacho Amadoz: SOI Registries Stakeholder Group (RySG)

Osvaldo Novoa: SOI Internet Service Providers and Connectivity Providers (ISPCP)

Susan Payne: SOI Intellectual Property Constituency (IPC)

Incoming councilors introduced themselves to fellow councilors in a few words.

Philippe Fouquart, **outgoing GNSO Chair**, chaired the first portion of the call, and welcomed all incoming councilors to the 2022-2023 Council.

1.3 - Review / Amend Agenda

The agenda was accepted without change.

Item 2. Election of the Chair

One nomination was received for this position, Sebastien Ducos who circulated his <u>candidate statement</u> to the GNSO Council on 12 September 2022.

Philippe Fouquart reminded councilors that given Sebastien Ducos was an uncontested candidate for the GNSO Chair, voting via closed ballot, as is tradition during face-to face sessions, had been discarded by Council leadership in favor of an open roll call vote. This procedure had received no objection on the GNSO Council mailing list.

The Council proceeded to elect the chair according to the GNSO Operating Procedures:

GNSO OPERATING PROCEDURES

https://gnso.icann.org/sites/default/files/file/field-file-attach/op-procedures-24oct19-en.pdf

Section 2.2 Officer Elections: Chair and Vice-Chairs

The roll call vote was done by open ballot which had two options:

[] Sebastien Ducos

[] None of the Above

Nathalie Peregrine, ICANN Org, tallied the votes.

The results of the election were:

	Candidate 1	Candidate 2
Results:	Sebastien Ducos	None of the Above
СРН	7	0
NCPH	13	0
	20	0

СРН	100,00%	
NCPH	100,00%	
	200,00%	0,00%

With the 60% threshold attained in both the Contracted Party House and the Non Contracted Party House, **Sebastien Ducos** was elected GNSO Chair for 2022-2023.

Sebastien Ducos, GNSO Chair, thanked councilors and both Houses for their support, and proceeded to outline his focus points for the upcoming months.

Vote results

Action items: none

•

Item 3. Election of GNSO Council Vice Chair 2022-2023

Non-Contracted Party House - John McElwaine

Contracted Party House - Greg DiBiase

Sebastien Ducos, GNSO Chair, welcomed Greg and John and congratulated them on their respective appointments.

Item 4. Any Other Business

4.1. Confirm GNSO Chair as interim GNSO Decisional Participant Representative to the Empowered Community

Action Item

Per the process and criteria for the selection of GNSO representative to the Empowered
Community Administration that were adopted by the GNSO Council on 28 June 2017, the GNSO
Chair is confirmed by the GNSO Council upon election as the interim representative to the EC
Admin, until such time as the GNSO leadership team has had an opportunity to meet and decide
who is taking on this role.

Sebastien Ducos, **GNSO Chair**, adjourned the meeting at 08:04 UTC.

The next GNSO Council meeting will take place on Thursday 20 October 2022.